Step Mania

I absolutely love freestyle step aerobics. It’s my favourite class style. As an instructor, my personal strength is more in being able to break down and teach routines to participants… choreography is not exactly my strongest point.

One of my favourite instructors is Lethal Leslie who is based in Canada. She has a heap of You Tube videos and I regularly use her routines for my classes (always giving credit where credit is due!).

Here is the set of routines we’ll be working on over the next few weeks in my Thursday night class.  I have taught this before but it’s been ages so time to pull it out again!  What I typically do is keep the same set of routines for 3-4 weeks before changing. I find this works well because the routines have enough complexity in them that experienced steppers don’t get bored and in fact like knowing they get to come back next week and do them again. But it’s also friendly to those newer to step because it gives them a chance to learn some moves and because they usually don’t master all of it in a single class, they get a few classes to re-learn and re-practise any moves that they get stuck on.

At the end of the day, freestyle step is all about having some fun and learning some new stuff whilst you get a work out!

Leave a comment